CleanShot X alternatives: decide what you can drop
Something prompted the search. A renewal notice arrived, or a macOS upgrade changed how a capture behaves, or the menu bar got audited icon by icon and the screenshot tool came up for review. Whatever started it, the usual next move is to open five comparison articles and collect app names, and that is the slow route.
The faster route is to work out which capture features are genuinely in daily use, because that single answer changes the size of the field. Someone who grabs a region, draws an arrow and pastes it into a chat window has a wide choice, including one option already installed on the Mac. Someone who captures scrolling pages, pulls text out of images and hands out cloud links that colleagues open weeks later has a narrow one. Everything below was checked against the vendors' own pages on September 10, 2026.
The product moved recently, so check what is installed
Before comparing anything, it helps to know which version is on the machine. MTW, the developer, shipped version 5.0 on September 1, 2026, and the changelog describes it as the largest update to date. The headline addition is Studio Mode, a video editor for screen recordings: smart zooms that follow the cursor, trimming, cursor smoothing, cinematic motion blur, backgrounds behind recordings, and hardware accelerated export.
The naming has shifted too. The app is presented as CleanShot, while CleanShot X remains the name most search traffic still uses. If the reason for looking elsewhere is a memory of what the app could do two years ago, the fair comparison is against the build being distributed now rather than against an older review.
System requirements are worth confirming in the same pass. The published FAQ states that macOS 13.0 or newer is required, and lists the last builds that ran on older systems: 4.8.10 for Catalina, 4.8.4 for Mojave, 4.1 for Sierra and High Sierra. On an older Mac that requirement is sometimes the entire reason a replacement search started.
The update term is what most people are actually reacting to
Pricing confusion drives a large share of alternative hunting, and the developer documents the model on a dedicated page.
Every license gets 1 year of free updates from the purchase date. Source: cleanshot.com, read September 10, 2026
The rest of that page matters just as much. Once the term expires, the options are renewing for another year at $19 per seat, or keeping the last version indefinitely without renewing. The page is explicit that access to the app is never withdrawn, and that an active Cloud Pro subscription always carries the latest build without a separate renewal.
Read plainly, that means a renewal notice is not by itself a reason to leave. Anyone content with the current feature set can decline and keep using it. The exception is anyone who upgrades macOS every autumn, because operating system compatibility arrives through those same updates. For that group, declining the renewal postpones the decision rather than settling it.
The two plans sit either side of that line. Basic is $35 once, covering the full Mac app, one year of updates and 1 GB of cloud storage. Pro is $10 per user per month billed annually, with monthly billing also offered at a higher rate, and it carries unlimited cloud storage, a custom domain and branding, password protection, file access controls, team management, SSO and SCIM. There is no trial build, but there is a 30 day money back guarantee, and the app is also distributed through Setapp, which does have a seven day free period. Students get 30 percent off and existing PixelSnap 2 owners get 20 percent.
Sort what is in use into five groups
The reason alternative hunting drags is that five unrelated jobs get bundled under one label. Split them.
Capturing. Region, window, fullscreen, timed capture, freezing the screen before selecting.
Marking up. Arrows, boxes, numbered step markers, redaction, blur, backgrounds, stitching several images together.
Long content. Scrolling capture, vertical and horizontal, for pages and chat logs that do not fit on screen.
Reading. Pulling selectable text out of an image, and decoding QR codes.
Recording and sharing. Screen recording, export, cloud upload, shareable links, comments on a capture.
Open the folder where captures are saved and look at the last month of files rather than at the settings window. Settings make every toggle look useful. The folder tells the truth. No tall stitched images means group three is not in use. No video files means group five is not in use. In practice most people mark groups one and two, occasionally three, and configured four and five once during the first week.
What macOS already covers
If only group one came out of that exercise, the honest answer may be that no third party app is needed. macOS ships with region, window and fullscreen capture, screen recording, a self timer and a configurable save location, all reachable from one on screen panel, and the thumbnail that appears afterwards opens a light annotation view. Apple support documents the panel and its shortcuts.
The gaps are specific rather than general. Capturing a page that only exists as a full picture after scrolling, and extracting text from an image, are the two jobs the built in panel does not do. How often those two come up is a much better test of whether a paid tool earns its place than any feature count.
The field on the same axes
| Item | CleanShot | Shottr | Xnapper |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Basic $35 once, Pro $10 per user monthly | Free, Basic $12, Friends Club $30 | Free, one time payment removes the watermark |
| Updates | One year, renewal $19 per year | Not stated | Not stated |
| macOS | 13.0 or newer | 10.15 or newer | Not stated |
| Scrolling capture | Vertical and horizontal | Vertical and horizontal | Not listed |
| Text recognition | Yes | Yes, plus QR codes | Yes |
| Screen recording | Yes, with an editor | Not listed | Not listed |
| Sharing | Cloud links and comments | Upload to S3 | Listed as coming soon |
| Devices | Managed in License Manager | One user, up to five computers | Not stated |
Shottr publishes a 2.3 MB disk image and leads on being small and tuned for Apple silicon. It stays usable for free, starts suggesting an upgrade after 30 days, and states that commercial use requires a licence. Its own knowledge base is candid about limits: scrolling capture does not work on every system and a manual mode exists as a fallback, and apps that alter scrolling behaviour can interfere with it.
Xnapper is free with a watermark that a one time payment removes. Its emphasis is automatic presentation, with balanced spacing, generated backgrounds, and one click redaction of emails, card numbers, IP addresses and API keys, plus on device text recognition. Neither of those two lists screen recording, so for group five they are not substitutes at all.
Where the cost comparison actually lands
Headline prices are not comparable until they are put on the same clock, because the three products bill in three different shapes.
Basic is $35 at purchase and then nothing, unless the renewal is taken, in which case it is $19 a year from the second year onward. Held for three years with every renewal taken, that is $73. Held for three years with no renewal at all, it stays at $35 and the app stops gaining features somewhere in year one. Pro at $10 per user per month billed annually is $120 a year, which reaches $360 over the same three years, and buys unlimited cloud storage, branding, access controls and the team administration features rather than a different capture engine.
Shottr's Basic tier is $12 as a single purchase covering one user on up to five computers, with the free tier remaining usable and prompting for an upgrade after 30 days. Xnapper is free with a watermark and charges once to remove it, without publishing a renewal term.
Two conclusions follow from lining those up. First, the gap between the cheapest paid option and the most expensive is not really about screenshots, it is about whether cloud sharing and team administration are part of the job. Second, for a solo user who never uploads anything, the difference between paying once and paying yearly is small enough that convenience should decide it rather than arithmetic.
Three things to settle before switching
Even with a decision made, switching on the same afternoon creates avoidable problems.
Shared links come first. Cloud uploads exist so that other people can open them, and those people reach the link from a chat log or a document weeks later. Leaving the service does not automatically mean leaving those links intact, so it is worth listing what was shared for work and keeping local copies of anything that still matters. The free tier holds 1 GB, with unlimited storage sitting on the Pro side, so changing plan affects this too.
Editable project files come second. Annotated captures can be saved in a proprietary editable format so the markup can be adjusted later. That format assumes the app that wrote it. Anything still worth re-editing should be exported as an image before the switch.
Automation comes third. There is a URL scheme for triggering captures from elsewhere, and the changelog for December 4, 2025 records a fix to the Raycast extension and to how that scheme handled permissions. Anyone who wired capture into a launcher or a shortcut should list those call sites first, because a replacement app is unlikely to answer the same URLs.
The menu bar slot does not move
If the crowded menu bar started this, note that swapping capture tools does not change the count. One icon leaves and one icon arrives. The artwork changes and the arithmetic does not.
Counting the top right of a working Mac usually produces about ten items once cloud storage, chat, password management, backup, meetings and input switching are included. Sorted by how often each is clicked, two or three get used daily and the rest are status indicators. A capture tool driven by keyboard shortcuts almost always falls into the second group, which makes it a strong candidate for hiding rather than removing.
Hiding a row of status icons behind one collapsible strip is what a menu bar manager does, and the detail that decides whether it feels helpful is what happens when a hidden icon does need a click. How it compares sets out where the tools in that category differ on macOS support and distribution, and pricing shows the shape of the cost, since one time purchases and yearly terms are not the same decision.
What to change first
Open the capture folder, look at the last month of files, and mark the groups that actually appear. If only regions and arrows show up, try a fortnight on the built in panel before buying anything. If tall stitched images and extracted text show up, keep a dedicated tool and treat the renewal notice as a separate question from the replacement question.
Then handle the menu bar as its own job rather than as a side effect of switching apps, starting with Koffret.
Frequently asked questions
Does the app stop working when the update term expires?
No. The published billing page states that a licence includes one year of updates from the purchase date, after which the choice is renewing at $19 per seat per year or keeping the last version indefinitely. Access is not withdrawn. The practical catch is that support for new macOS releases arrives through those updates.
Is the built in macOS screenshot panel enough?
For selecting a region, saving it and adding a quick arrow, usually yes. The two jobs it does not cover are capturing content that only exists in full after scrolling, and pulling selectable text out of an image. How often those two come up is the real test.
Which alternatives can be used without paying?
Shottr remains usable for free and starts prompting for an upgrade after 30 days, with a licence required for commercial use. Xnapper is free with a watermark that a one time payment removes. As of September 2026 neither vendor lists screen recording, so neither replaces a workflow that includes video.
What happens to the licence when moving to a new Mac?
Activating on a new machine automatically deactivates the previous one, and multi seat licences are managed through the vendor's License Manager, which is also where extra seats are added. The key is emailed by Paddle at purchase time, so a missing key is often sitting in a spam folder.